British Columbia

Jorge
6 min readOct 12, 2020

A twenty-five day adventure exploring Canada’s Western Coast

Sunset at Cox Bay, Vancouver Island

It’s funny how life works some times. A random encounter outside a coffee shop led to the idea of travelling to the west coast at the end of summer. I was excited for this trip: every other major trip I had planned for 2020 had been cancelled. This last minute plan to go back to one of the places I once called home was exciting.

Squamish

Squamish with The Stawamus Chief in the background

Squamish is a small town located about an hour north from downtown Vancouver. For years it was a sleepy logging town that most folks drove by on their way to Whistler. That all started changing 15 years ago. With the rise of real estate prices in Vancouver and Whistler, there has been a migration towards Squamish, which has led to a change from being an industrial town to a town focused on outdoor tourism.

I lived in North Vancouver for 18 months and only went to Squamish once. At the time, I was focused on enjoying the city life as a teenager. I didn’t care much about being in nature other than snowboarding in the local hills. I didn’t understand what a privilege it was to have beautiful mountains, waterfalls, rivers, forests, beaches, and coves on my backyard. I understand now.

Elfin Lakes

During my stay at Squamish, I pushed my body to the limit. I either hiked, biked, or climbed almost every day I was there. There is no doubt in my mind that if I ever end up living in a place like Squamish, I would be in top shape.

One of the most epic hikes we did was the 33 kilometre round trip hike to the summit of Opal Dome, deep inside Garibaldi Provincial Park. It was a 12 hour epic which included crossing rivers, scrambling scree slopes, and gorgeous 360 degree views of the coastal range.

Melissa scrambling up to the summit of Opal Dome. Not too long ago, there was a glacier right where that lake sits now.

I hope to one day come back to the summit of Opal Dome, and see how climate change has affected the scenery. These coastal glaciers are retreating at a fast pace, and I am curious to see if they will still be around next time I explore this area.

Atwell Peak and Garibaldi Neve on Garibaldi Provincial Park, taken from the summit of Opal Dome

Melissa and I also did the short but strenuous hike up The Chief in Stawamus Chief Provincial Park. This six kilometre round trip hike involves roughly 700 meters in elevation gain. The view at the top is worth the effort.

View from Second Peak on Stawamus Chief Provincial Park

Squamish is considered one of the best places in the world to rock climb. I brought my gear and managed to go climbing four days, including climbing the iconic multi pitch route Star Chek in under one hour.

Pitch 3 of Star Check, a legendary multi pitch sport climb in Cheakamus Canyon, north of Squamish

I must say I got really lucky with the weather in Squamish. Other than rain on the first day and smoke from the wildfires the last two days, the weather was beautiful!

Sunset in Howe Sound, south of Squamish

Vancouver Island

Vancouver Island was another place I never took advantage of exploring as a teenager. Before this trip, I had only visited the city of Victoria with my parents.

I woke up as the sun was rising the first morning on the island after car camping on a lake near Cathedral Grove. That morning I was already feeling that this place was going to ground me.

The first thing we did on the island was to take a stroll in one of the last remaining Old-Growth Forests of the island. Before this trip, I never really gave it thought at the differences between an untouched forest and a forest that had been previously logged. The differences in life are staggering. Inside old-growth forests you can feel your surroundings more alive.

A section of old-growth forest in Meares Island

I understand that logging has brought prosperity to British Columbia and other forested communities. Timber is a renewable resource; there’s no denying that. Forests do growth back and regenerate eventually. However, I can only hope that those in charge always understand the importance of the balance between extraction and sustainability.

That afternoon we made our way to Tofino. Tofino was a sleepy fishing village that caught the attention of tourists and hippies in the 1980s. Today the town has a weird, harmonious vibe between the indigenous people that have resided in the area for thousands of years, the fishermen and other local residents, the surfers and the hippies who live simple lives in vans, shacks, and basements in the area, and the tourists and cottagers who visit the hotels and resorts during the summer months.

Tofino’s Bay

As you drive into the town, you feel like time stopped a while ago. The main attraction of Tofino are not its restaurants and shops (Although I must say, the food in Tofino is exceptional) but the nature that surrounds it. We spent our time there whale watching, sea kayaking, surfing, and going on walks on its forests, coves, and beaches.

The nature that surrounds Tofino

While Tofino is a very popular place in the summer, the other part of Vancouver Island I visited, Comox Valley, is far more local and sleepy. Located near the eastern shores of Vancouver Island, Comox is where most of the highest peaks of the Vancouver Island range are located. It is also home to Strathcona Provincial Park, home to many lakes, rivers and forests that I explored during my six days in the region.

Landslide Lake in Strathcona Provincial Park

My time in Comox Valley was very relaxing. With no real schedule, It brought me back to summers as a kid where I would wake up whenever, grab my shoes, and headed outside to play with my friends. I tried new things such as downhill mountain biking and Qi Gong, hiked to mountain summits and lakes, and watched beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The simplicity of my days there brought me a lot of happiness.

Sunset at Mt. Washington, in Comox Valley

This 25 day journey into beautiful British Columbia was not what I planned for, but it was definitely what I needed. Being the first multi week trip since I decided to leave the working life, it validated my belief that the decision I made was the right one. With everything that’s going on in the world, it is a privilege to have been able to spend the end of summer of 2020 in such a gorgeous place surrounded by nature and creating great memories with great friends.

Half Moon Bay, British Columbia

--

--

Jorge

Retired Investment Professional. Part-time Adventurer.